09th January 2019

Member Details

Who's who on The Consumer Council Board.

The Council has a Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson and eight members appointed following ministerial approval. Their role is to oversee the strategic direction of the Consumer Council and for ensuring the highest standards of corporate governance, efficiency and propriety in the use of public funds.

Ms Sheila McClelland (Chairperson)

Sheila was, previous to this appointment, the Chief Executive of Carrickfergus Borough Council until the reform of local government and the amalgamation of the council area into Mid and East Antrim DC on 1 April 2015.

Sheila had been a career public servant with previous roles in the Northern Ireland Assembly in which she held a number of positions including Head of Outreach and Education, Keeper of the House, Head of Corporate Services and Clerk to the Finance and Personnel Committee during the period 2001 to 2011. She was Private Secretary to the Minister for Regional Development in the period 1999 to 2001, and prior to devolution, was the Departmental and Travelling Private Secretary to the Minister for the Environment.

In January 2014 Sheila was appointed to the board of Northern Ireland Co-operation Overseas (NICO) (DETI/Invest Northern Ireland). Sheila was recently appointed to the Board of Directors of the Northern Ireland Community Relations Council and to the Heritage Lottery Fund (Northern Ireland Committee).

Mick McAteer (Deputy Chairperson)

Mick McAteer hails from Northern Ireland.  He has over 20 years experience as a consumer advocate in the UK and EU and is best known for his work in financial services. He was on the board of the Financial Services Authority (FSA) and the FSA's successor, the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) for just over six years until January 2016.

He is founder and Co-Director of the Financial Inclusion Centre, a UK based not-for-profit think tank.

He is Chair of the European Commission's Financial Services User Group (FSUG) and a board member of the CARITAS (Westminster) Advisory Board.  He is also a Trustee of ShareAction and Chair of Z2K (Zacchaeus 200) Trust.

He is a Consumer panel member of the Registry Trust and an Innovation Consultative Working Group member of the European and Securities Markets Authority (ESMA).

Previously, Mick was Principal Policy Adviser at Which? (the largest consumer group in Europe, formerly known as Consumers' Association) for 13 years until end 2006 and formulated the organization’s policy on financial services.

Mr McAteer brings experience of consumer issues, strategic thinking, leadership and governance to the Board, as well as communication skills.   

Mr David Beattie BA MIB

After leaving school, David commenced employment in Northern Bank where he spent 14 years before joining the Ulster Bank in the late 90's as Marketing Strategy Manager.  He has since occupied a number of Senior roles within Ulster Bank and more recently was the Head of Tesco Bank in Ireland, based in Dublin.  As a marketing professional David has also won a number of National Awards for innovation and marketing execution.

David has been involved in a number of charitable groups over the years, has a keen interest in all sports and lists rugby as his sporting passion.

Mr David Galloway

David is the Northern Ireland Director of  the Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB), having previously worked in a number of senior management posts in the DHSSPS.  He is also a member of the Northern Ireland Advisory Group for Action on Hearing Loss.  He has a BA in Business Studies and has studied at the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard.

Ms Noyona Chundur

Noyona is Head of Campaigns & Digital Solutions at Invest Northern Ireland, where she has won multiple internationally recognised awards for her marketing and digital communications work across a range of sectors. She is also Chair of the Cathedral Quarter Arts Festival, one of Northern Ireland’s leading arts festivals, and a member of the Institute of Directors.

Ms Lynne Crowther

Lynne is a communications consultant providing guidance and mentoring on social media strategy, implementation and training. She has worked on campaigns for a number of organisations including Coca-Cola and ChildLine.

Dr Sinéad Furey

Sinéad is a lecturer in Consumer Management and Food Innovation at Ulster University, having previously been a senior executive officer in the Food Standards Agency in NI.

Dr Joan Martin

Joan is a Lay Representative on the Northern Ireland Medical and Dental Training Agency and a panel member of the Northern Ireland Courts Service Appeals Tribunal Service. She is also a Lay member on the General Osteopathic Council UK, a member of the Strategic Advisory Board of the Bar Tribunal Adjudication Service, London, and a member of the Tribunal Appointments Board of the Council of the Inns of Court, London.

Ms Mary Woods

Mary is a self-employed consultant specialising in mediation, counselling and leadership mentoring and training. She was Regional Manager for Boots NI and then Head of Region, Boots Ireland. She was President of the Belfast Chamber of Trade. Mary is a Lay Member of the Solicitors’ Disciplinary Tribunal appointed by the Office of the Lord Chief Justice. She holds one other public appointment as a Lay Non-Executive Director on the Board of the Western Health and Social Care Trust.

No topic added